Ballarat Heritage Walking Trails
Start: Ballarat Visitor Information Centre
Finish: Ballarat Visitor Information Centre
This series of three heritage walking trails set in the heart of Ballarat take you on an absorbing journey through the city and its mining past. The trails centre around Sturt Street, Lydiard Street and Camp Street in Ballarat's heritage precinct and explore many of Ballarat's grand buildings.
Sturt Street is Ballarat's main thoroughfare and much of its original architecture remains, with prime corner sites reserved for churches and public buildings. Some of the buildings of note include the impressive Town Hall (1859), the Ballarat Mechanics Institute (1859) and the old Post Office Building (1864). The street is also lined with historic monuments and statues.
Considered one of Austalia's most beautifully preserved historic thoroughfares, Lydiard Street boasts some of the country's finest examples of colonial architecture, from the classic Ballarat Gaol (1857) and School of Mines (1870) to the magnificent Mining Exchange (1889) and the city's grand railway station (1862). Other buildings include Her Majesty's Theatre (1875), Craig's Royal Hotel (1857) and the Art Gallery of Ballarat (1884).
Ballarat's Government Camp was established on this elevated site off Lydiard Street in the 1850s to give troopers an open view of the gold diggings below. Today Camp Street is home to an array of historic buildings including the Baroque-style Trades Hall (1887), impressive Edwardian TMCA building (1908), Freemasons Hall (1874) and old Ballarat Police Station (1886).
For more information, pick up a copy of the Ballarat Heritage Walking Trails brochure at the Ballarat Visitor Information Centre.