Welcome, skip to the content.


Incinerator Art Awards: Art for Social Change

03 8325 1750

Until 26 Nov 2017

The Incinerator Art Award is an award of national significance with entries received from every state and territory in Australia. The award is a show case of 22 artists whose work interrogates contemporary culture in their practices to achieve and influence social change.

The award is inspired by the original architects of the Incinerator Gallery, Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony, who believed that art and architecture practices are ethical enterprises that should aim to bring about positive social change.

Come along and see works by artists - Jacob Raupach, Hayley Millar-Baker, Sheena Colquhoun, Sophie Takach, Cigdem Aydemir, Paul Trefry, Thea Jones, Alana Hunt, Phuong Ngo, Rew Hanks, Yandell Walton, Georgia Robenstone, Heather Hesterman, Matthew Vaughan, Becc Ország, Jacquelene Drinkall, Mohsen Meysami, Aaron Martin, Perdita Phillips, Sharon West, Carly Fischer, Kelly Hussey-Smith.

The prize recipients of the $10,000 Boathouse Award and the $3,000 Incinerator Gallery Award will be announced at the exhibition’s opening night.

The $1,000 People’s Choice Award will be announced at the exhibition’s conclusion.

An Auslan interpreter will be available on the opening of the Incinerator Art Award.

The Incinerator Art Award is proudly sponsored by The Boathouse.


More info

Social media:
  • Car park
  • Non smoking establishment
  • Public toilet
Entry cost:

Free Entry


  • Disabled access available, contact operator for details