Welcome, skip to the content.

In this third instalment of MSO’s 2017 Chamber Series, the focus is placed squarely on the string quartet. Featuring three works from the MSO’s 2017 Composer in Residence, Australian contemporary music superstar Elena Kats-Chernin, and one from the inimitable master composer Mozart, this lineup has been chosen by the musicians for its dramatic range of required skills and techniques, and is sure to push them to the edge of their ability.

Beginning with Mozart’s String Quartet No. 19 Dissonance, so named for its unusually slow introduction, this is the last in a set of six pieces for string quartet that Mozart dedicated to Joseph Haydn.

The programme then features Kats-Chernin’s works: From Anna Magdalena’s Notebook is inspired by J.S. Bach, but re-worked with her own distinctive stylings; and the final two pieces harken back to the ragtime genre – offering ‘striking variety’ (AllMusic) to this dynamic lineup of works.


Price & booking


Type Entry cost

More info

Social media:
  • Public toilet