Welcome, skip to the content.


Musica Viva Coffee Concert: Arcadia Winds

1800 688 482

29 Aug 2017

As Musica Viva’s inaugural FutureMakers, the country’s finest young wind ensemble is already beginning to make its mark on Australia’s musical landscape, bringing energetic, spontaneous and joyful performances to audiences across the country.

In this program, high spirits abound, from Ligeti’s cheerful, quirky 1960's soundworld to Françaix’s amusing characterisations of each instrument – like a witty conversation in French. And where Zemlinsky turned, in perhaps his last work, to the glowing ‘Harmonie’ style of his youth, young Australian composer Elizabeth Younan offers a brilliant glimpse of the wind music of the future.

Kiran Phatak - Flute
David Reichelt - Oboe
Lloyd Van’t Hoff - Clarinet
Rachel Shaw - Horn
Matthew Kneale - Bassoon

Ligeti - Ten Pieces For Wind Quintet
Zemlinsky - Humoreske
Younan - Shoreditch Grind*
Françaix - Quintet no 1

*Elizabeth Younan is supported by Musica Viva’s Hildegard Project

The morning concert series, presented in Sydney and Melbourne, featuring performances by leading Australian and international classical ensemble artists, including pre-concert tea, coffee and cake.

Content: Musica Viva Australia