Welcome, skip to the content.
A line from Murchison East on the Shepparton railway was constructed to the gold mining town of Rushworth in 1890 and extended to Colbinabbin in 1914. Rushworth became a junction when a line was constructed to Girgarre in 1917. A diversion of the line was necessary when the Waranga Basin was constructed. The lines were all closed by 1987.
Currently an eight kilometre section of the trail from the Murchison Township to the rail bridge at Channel Inlet Road has been completed. The section includes the recently refurbished historically significant bridge over the Stuart Murray Canal and borders the unique ecosystem of Doctor's Swamp wetlands. It has easy access to the Parks Victoria picnic area on the western boundary of the swamp.
Eventually the trail will continue along to Channel Inlet Road giving easy access to Waranga Basin. On completion the trail will cover 19 kilometres.
Open at all times