Step back into the Golden Era and experience one of the most remarkable boom time buildings in Victoria. Bendigo's Town Hall features stunning interiors, elaborate plasterwork, extensive hand painted decorations and delicate gold leafing. Guided tours are available and tour bookings are essential (subject to Town Hall availability). Please contact the Bendigo Visitor Information Centre for bookings.
Price & booking
Tour pricing information (GST included)
|Type||Valid from||Valid to||Price from($)||Price to($)|
Days of operation
Bendigo Town Hall
Departure details: 03/01/13 - 04/01/15
Wed: 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 12:00pm
Tour starting location
Bendigo Visitor Centre
The Bendigo Visitor Centre is located right in the heart of Bendigo in the historic Post Office building. Town Hall tours are booked through the Bendigo Visitor Centre and run twice a week on Wednesday at 2pm and Sunday at 11am. Bookings for the tours are essential and can be booked through the Visitor Centre.
The Town Hall was constructed in 1859 by town clerk, George Avery Fletcher. Council chambers were added in 1866 and a hall for trading grain known as the 'corn exchange' in 1871 to 1872.
The original building was completely remodelled and expanded by renowned architect W.C Vahland in a series of major works between 1878 and 1902. He was commissioned to create a building that would reflect the exuberance and splendour of Bendigo's golden age.
This work included enlargement of the main hall and council chambers and introduction of a superb interior decorative scheme including plasterwork by Otto Waschatz, who also decorated the royal palace in Copenhagen.
Vahland is known for creating a number of local structures which display his great architectural skill. Among them are the Bendigo Art Gallery, Alexandra Fountain and the Masonic Hall and Temple (now known as the Capital Theatre).
Renovations to restore the Town Hall back to its magnificent state were completed in 2000.