Crawford River Regional Park
Address: Princess Hwy, Hotspur, Victoria 3303
Freecall: 131 963
Crawford River Regional Park offers fine views of riverside and valley vegetation. Enjoy a pleasant bushwalk, try your luck fishing for Redfin and Rainbow Trout, camp at Hiscocks Crossing or picnic along the Boulevard.
Things to see and do
- Pleasure driving along 'The Boulevard', which follows the northern bank of the river, through forests of Brown Stringybark, Manna Gum and lush tree-fern lined gullies, is a beautiful way to discover the Park.
- Camping at Hiscocks Crossing and picnicking along 'The Boulevard' is popular
- Fishing is challenging, with species such as Redfin and Rainbow Trout to be caught. Freshwater crayfish are also found in the river
- Bushwalking through the Park is relaxing and enjoyable. There are numerous bird species to view and vegetation types to discover. A return 2.5 km nature trail from the Hiscocks Crossing camping area takes you along the river's edge through lush vegetation and then higher up into wet and dry sclerophyll forests
- Nature study in the variety of habitats makes the area valuable for students and photography enthusiasts alike. A quiet observer can discover a range of animals and botanists can enjoy the floristic diversity of the region.
Before you go
Conditions can change in parks for many reasons. For the latest information on changes to local conditions, please visit the relevant park page on the Parks Victoria website.
Be bushfire ready in the great outdoors. Refer to the Bushfire Safety section on the Parks Victoria website for tips on how to stay safe.
Content: Parks Victoria
Crawford River Regional Park is situated in the Crawford River valley near Hotspur, about 45 minutes north of Portland. Follow the signs just past Hotspur heading for Casterton and near Greenwald on the Princes Highway.
Additional business information
Crawford River Regional Park is on the boundary between areas occupied by two Aboriginal tribes- the Bunganditj and Gunditmara. The river was probably important to these tribes as a source of food and water. By 1877 the entire Aboriginal population of the Western District was reduced to 170 people as a result of European settlement and introduced diseases such as small-pox. The area now occupied by the Park was claimed as a pastoral run during the 1840's and sheep grazing was the predominant use until the gold rush era of the 1850's. Squatters diversified into meat production and cleared and cropped for wheat to feed the growing population. Drought, fire and poor farming techniques led to the abandonment of many blocks during the 1880's and 1890's with some blocks reverting to Crown Land. The forests in the Park have hardly been used for timber production because of the availability of better quality timber nearby that is easier to access than the steep slopes of Crawford River. The first Forest Act was given assent to in 1907 and a section of the Park was dedicated as Reserved Forest in the same year. The majority of the Park was recommended for dedication as Reserved Forest in 1925 but was not gazetted until 1955. Small additions were later made, the last being in 1966. Recreation has been the major use of the Park in recent times.
Activities and attractions