The El Dorado Museum collection is sited in the original school house number 246 which opened in 1870.
The school rooms and out-sheds house a large variety of items such as social and domestic purpose items - irons, ovens, pots, butter churns, scales, phonographs and cylinders, school items such as readers and school papers, slates and games, lodge regalia, costumes and textiles, books, bottles, toys, silver and pewter objects, porcelain and china.
Mining history is displayed in the gemstone and mining history room. Gold and tin mining relics from the Cock's El Dorado Gold and Tin Dredge and Cock's Pioneer sluicing are on display as well as information on various mines in the area with some photographic history of the mining from 1850 until 1950.
Agricultural implements such as drays, ploughs, traction and steam engines, reapers, binders, Cahoon seed spreader, corn sheller, dray harness, animal traps, wine press, farm carts can be viewed and read about in the available information booklet.
Blacksmith's shop has a fireplace, bellows, anvil, hammers and other tools, horseshoes.
There are also many wood workers hand tools, saws and mining implements.
Genealogy is available from school records, cemetery records World War One records and some photos, lodge and church records and mining records.
The museum has War memorabilia ranging from helmets and medals to souvenirs and bayonets.
Children's treasure hunt activities are available with some hands on items to try out as well. Anyone can have a go at gold panning and keep any gold that they discover.
Content: El Dorado Museum