Welcome, skip to the content.


Beginnings with the Australian String Quartet

08 8313 3748

20 Nov 2017

Scarlatti Sonata a Quattro no 4 in D minor
Bartók String Quartet no 1
Beethoven String Quartet in F major op 59 no 1

The Australian String Quartet travels across musical time in a program that encompasses baroque eloquence, classical grandeur and intense romanticism at the dawn of the 20th century. They begin with one of the earliest works for string quartet written by Italian master, Alessandro Scarlatti.

Bartók, the undisputed giant of the 20th century string quartet, makes his first impression in the genre with this sumptuous first quartet. Though revelling in the musical world of late romanticism and the vivid colours of the impressionists, the vigour and rawness of this music is unmistakably Bartók.

String quartets of the classical era are often described as musical conversations. Beethoven’s first Razumovsky quartet orates with passion, serious intent and grandeur of scale. Composed soon after the revolutionary Eroica Symphony, this quartet carries the same powerful sense of expressiveness and scope.

Content: The Australian String Quartet

Price & booking


Type Entry cost
This price applies to all under 30 years of age, regardless of being a student.

More info

Social media:
  • Non smoking establishment

  • Disabled access available, contact operator for details
  • Suitable for guests with sufficient mobility to climb two or three steps, but would benefit from fixtures and fittings to aid balance
  • Suitable for guests who depend on the use of a wheelchair in a seated position at all times
  • Suitable for guests with a vision impairment. Attained by providing for guests with partial vision impairment or total loss of useable vision