Explore two exceptional Victorian Heritage Listed cottages.
Mott's Cottage - 5 Sackville Street, Port Fairy. Mott’s Cottage was constructed in three stages, the oldest section dates from 1850 or earlier and was built for local stonemason John Hooper. The building acquired its name in the twentieth century from Sarah Jane Mott, who owned it between 1918 and 1944. Across its long history it was used as a bakery and now survives to offer a glimpse into how the earliest European settlers into Victoria lived.
Mills' Cottage - 40 Gipps Street, Port Fairy. The earliest part of Mills' Cottage dates back to c.1843, making it possibly one of Victoria’s oldest homes. The house was first occupied by John Brabyn Mills and his brother Charles Fredrick, from the mid 1850s-1871 Captain John Mills, the Port Fairy Harbour Master occupied the house.
The cottages are open to the public on Saturdays from 2:00pm – 4:00pm, on 21 and 28 September, 5 and 19 October.
Then opening on the first and third Saturday of the month.
Map pins are available via the tab key in a list after the map.
You can pan the map with the keyboard arrows.